STRATEGY WORDS

Finesse, Football, & Faith

CURATED CURIOSITIES

🙄 Decomposing decimals improperly will fractionalize focus. What the frackety dackety? CONFUZZLED yet?! Let’s just say 5TH GRADE MATH strategies are overwhelming! Here’s how it plays out during homework:

“Jordan, stop being a weirdo. I’m not. I’m being a living organism.”

—That’s the 100% PROCRASTINATION STRATEGY.

😽  Enter Thunder, our cat. He’ll often make an appearance in the midst of long division. The azimuth angle of our circular arguments will now multiply exponentially. Yet the delay slant is nothing if not CREATIVE.

“I Recline on Math Problems!”

 💥 There is something to avant-garde strategy. Just ask the 49rs who will hit the field this Sunday in Super-Bowl LVIII! For them it’s the “squeeze over the spread.” Spread offenses split the receivers out across the field and space out the offensive line. They saturate the NFL. The squeeze flips the script! The condensed formation of the 49rs bunches everyone close together. It exposes vast amounts of empty field the defense has to cover. The outcome? The middle opens up!

https://www.wsj.com/sports/football/kyle-shanahan-offense-49ers-brock-purdy-christian-mccaffrey-1776f02e

“Squeeze”

I’m not sure what Taylor Swift’s strategy is for getting to the Super Bowl since she’ll be in Tokyo performing the day before. A twelve hour flight, a 17 hour time difference? That was enough for the Japanese Embassy to weigh in! “BE FEARLESS.” That messaging highlighted the assurances that Super Bowl “swifties” will have their queen in Las Vegas for kick-off. I mean, nobody wants to be the anti-hero in this romance…

People often ask me what strategies I use to maintain a high level of energy while working a morning shift. It is somewhat of an art…

  • First I try to move from passion to passion. It’s my version of the counterintuitive squeeze over the spread. I’m convinced that doing things that energize me to life lift me up with the 1AM alarm. I don’t try to conserve my energy. I expend it! I won’t forego staying up late if it’s something I love (friends, church, writing, sports games). I’ve learned that energy creates more energy! I always try to have something special to look forward to each day.

  • Next I try and tackle my workout early (before work). That way, whatever happens the rest of the day, at least my mental health is taken care of! Plus after an Aarmy cycling session I’ve already conquered something challenging.

  • Most importantly, I meditate on how much I believe God loves me. This eradicates artificial, accusatory thoughts and brings hope! 💗 I thank Jesus and I ask for guidance. (Ephesians 6:13-18).

UNLOCKING WISDOM CAN CREATE SOUND STRATEGY.

Sandra Shaw

Be fearless in your strategies! Do what works for you, yet stay flexible enough to change your process. Add a dash of surprise, spice up the status quo, tenaciously find the openings that will spur you forward! I’m passionate about writing these newsletters! Thank you for being part of my strategy 💜 (Go Ravens, lol! Enjoy the Super Bowl & I’ll see ya next week)!

Reply

or to participate.