Perceptive Words

Sharks, Sisters, and Seasons

CURATED CURIOSITIES

“I MADE IT.”

That’s how 15-year old Lulu Gribbin greeted her parents after a vicious shark attack stole her left hand and right leg. The bull shark mauled Lulu as she searched for sand dollars in waist high water off Rosemary Beach. A man fought off the shark. A young boy helped move her to shore. Two doctors and a nurse on the beach tourniqueted Lulu until EMTs arrived. Once there, they raced the survivor away, to be airlifted to a hospital.

LULU SAID SHE FELT GOD IN THE BACK OF THE BEACH TRUCK.

She’s asked for prayers for her friends who witnessed the trauma. Her mom declared that Lulu is a truly a miracle and her long journey is just beginning. Ann Gribbin penned a letter describing the incident. It’s poignant, beautiful, and resilient. https://www.caringbridge.org/visit/prayersforlulugribbin/journal/view/id/6665cedcc94e7b9f262815ce

“Lulu (on left) with her twin sister, Ellie”

Life and death incidents have a way of putting things into perspective. Still, there are those lesser frustrations in life where we “don’t make it.” WNBA basketball phenom Caitlin Clark can attest to that. Team USA shunned her from the Olympics. This, despite the fact that when Clark plays, attendance goes up 105%. She’s also the fastest rookie in WNBA history to reach 200 points! Clark’s weathering the diss like she shakes off a flagrant foul—-”with grace.” Clark said, “I think it just gives you something to work for. That’s a dream. Hopefully one day I can be there.”

Serena Williams has some stronger, encouraging words for Clark!

“Perspective!”

Either way, we’re about to enter the summer season. The solstice is tomorrow (Thursday) at 4:50 PM (EST). That’s when the sun reaches its most northerly point in the Earth’s sky. It’s also the longest day and shortest night of the year. In South Florida, we will have 14 hours and 9 minutes of sunlight. This year the solstice will coincide with a Full “Strawberry” Moon. Scientists say the moon will be brighter than most since it’s expected to sit relatively low on the horizon.

Again, this is another instance of perception. The moon will appear closer than it really is. Plus, with the solstice, it’s actually the Earth’s tilt ,and not our distance from the sun, which determine the new season.

So what are you tilting toward this summer? Is your perspective one of gratitude in tragedy like Lulu? Or is it a dominant, yet calming grace, like Caitlin Clark? Perhaps it’s a perspective of fight and discipline like Serena? Or maybe you need to reframe your perception?

TO PERCEIVE IS TO UNDERSTAND BEYOND FACTS.”

Sandra Shaw

I’m also convinced that what you perceive determines how you react. Last week I ended up running 12.5 miles barefoot on beach sand! I wanted to reach this lighthouse. I could see it in the distance, and I was determined to make it. But my depth perception was a bit off. It was much further than I realized! I kept running. Just a little more, just a little more…. At some point I’d put in so much effort, that there was no way I wasn’t going to get there! I had a lot more capacity than I knew.

“St. George Lighthouse”

My takeaway? A perception that keeps you moving forward, however difficult, is a sound motivator. A perception that paralyzes, needs to change. Many times we won’t be able to accurately see the path ahead. It’s our internal vision that must guide, even through obstacles.

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:18-19

I love this Bible verse because it speaks to an unseen, yet readily available hope. Hope kills the death of possibilities! Tilt your mind toward light. Reframe the darkness. Let Lulu, Caitlin, and Serena encourage you. I perceive a phenomenal summer ahead! 💜 

Reply

or to participate.