Olympic Words

Braking, Breaking, & Breakthrough

CURATED CURIOSITIES

What’s your favorite Olympic Sport? Bring it on! (No, not the cheerleading movie, LOL), though that’s kinda gonna be me once the games start at the end of this month 😂 I just love the competition and the stories embedded in every athlete. I even have my own gritty Olympic story!

Back in my Baltimore days, I did features on unusual Olympic sports. Neal Estano, a weather colleague, challenged me to try mountain biking. Definitely not in my wheelhouse, but I’m game for most anything. Off to the Wisp Ski resort we went. For whatever reason, I didn’t realize we’d be going down a mountain.

Neal cautioned, “Whatever you do, don’t hit the brakes abruptly.” I heard him, but was more concerned about the hot helmet and storm-trooper protective gear. Dirt biking is ratchet! I start bumping around on the rocky terrain, trying to avoid rivets and a ditch, and….

I HIT THE BRAKES. The jolt thrusts me airborne and I slam, face-first, into a rut. The mountain bike lands right on top of me. I survive. Now the laughable YouTube video is legend. But wow, I’d much rather pedal up a mountain any day!

“Mountain Biking & Me”

Forget the bike brakes. Breakdancing is the big buzz for the 2024 Olympics. B-boys, and B-girls, as the break athletes are called, will debut their sport at the Paris Games.

“Goals”

Some of Japan’s elders are even training in breakdancing. The Ara Style Seniors are mostly classical dancers, expanding into something fresh. Dancing connects both parts of the brain. Plus, trying something new, in general, creates additional neural pathways. I call that “breakthrough”!

A ‘TRY’ BREAKS OPEN THE UNKNOWN.”

Sandra Shaw

Just ask the writers of the Declaration of Independence. Their words announced a breaking away from oppression. The declaration, that all are created equal with unalienable rights, broke forth a new ideal.

“July 4th Week!”

When I was in the 6th grade, we had to write our own declaration of independence from something. I decided to declare my independence from limiting thoughts. It’s still an ideal. But I’m still trying! What are you wanting to break toward or away from? Breakthrough requires action.

  1. Break the goal into steps.

  2. Put a little work on it every day.

  3. Appreciate the chance to pursue “life, liberty, and happiness.”

It’s liberating to attempt progress. Endeavors keep us moving into the future. But what is the great equalizer? Could it be grace?

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” Galatians 5:1

Happy Independence Day! Enjoy the break 😀 ❤️ 💙 🤍 !

Reply

or to participate.